What is the best buckwheat pillow?
Updated .
Nearly every buckwheat pillow is a cotton case full of hulls with a zipper along one edge. The differences hide in the fine print, in answers to three questions. How many pounds of hulls go in? Where were they grown? Will the seller take the pillow back once you have slept on it? Those three facts settle most of the picks below.
Short answer: Of the 14 buckwheat pillows on this page, Hullo ($129 standard) is the strongest all-round choice, passing all six overall tests. ComfyComfy ($110) is the runner-up. The Circadian Buckwheat pillow ($149) is the pick for neck pain, Sweet Zzz suits side sleepers, the Circadian Buckwool ($199) leads the hybrids, Turmerry ($69) is the value pick, and beans72 and ComfyComfy lead the small sizes.
This guide is for: anyone choosing a buckwheat pillow who wants the picks, the test behind each one, and the fine print on hulls and returns that a product photo never shows.
Key Takeaways
Three counts drive most of the picks, and each one comes from the sellers' own pages as they read on 2026-10-07.
- Only 6 of 14 pillows can be returned for a refund after you sleep on them. Five more take back unused pillows only, give store credit, or take nothing back.
- 10 of 14 print a fill weight or a height. Weight is the best clue to how tall a hull pillow will be, and 4 leave you to guess.
- 6 of 14 call their hulls organic, and 0 print a certificate number for those hulls. One maker, Circadian, says outright that it does not call its hulls organic.
On This Page
The picks come first, one need each. The evidence follows: what every seller prints, the full table, and our estimates where sellers print nothing.
Which buckwheat pillow is best overall?
Hullo, because it passes all six of our written tests and says more about its hulls than any other seller, down to the states they were grown in.
Every pillow faced the same six tests. Does the seller print the pounds of hulls in a standard? Does it say where the hulls were grown? Is there a zipper, and can you buy more hulls? Is there a refund after at least 60 nights? Does a 20x26 standard cost under $150? Does its own page show 100 reviews or more?
Hullo prints 9 lbs 12 oz of hulls for its standard, which costs $129 (Hullo). The hulls were grown in Montana and North Dakota. They were milled and air-cleaned in North Dakota, and never roasted. Its own words are plain: "Hullo is a firm pillow." You get a 60-night trial with a refund. The page showed 455 reviews (trial terms). One catch. You pay the cost of sending it back.
ComfyComfy is the runner-up at $110, shipping included. It passes all six tests as well. So the tie goes to hull detail, where ComfyComfy tells you only that its hulls are USA-grown. Its pillows are handmade in Canada.
| Test | Hullo | ComfyComfy | Circadian Buckwheat |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fill weight printed | 9 lb 12 oz | 8 lb plus 2 lb spare | About 10 lb with cover |
| Hull origin named | Montana, North Dakota | USA | USA |
| Zipper and refills | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Refund after 60 nights | Yes | Yes, if complete and clean | Yes |
| Standard under $150 | $129 | $110 | $149 |
| 100 or more reviews | 455 | 387 | 43 |
Circadian passes five of six. It misses on reviews, so it takes the neck pain pick below instead.
Which buckwheat pillow suits neck pain?
The Circadian Buckwheat pillow, because it passes all four neck tests and sells spare hulls by the pound, so height changes come in small steps.
With a sore neck, height is the whole job, and finding yours can take weeks. So the tests were a zipper, a printed fill weight to start from, a refund after at least 60 nights, and spare hulls sold in bags of 2 lb or less. The aim is a height that keeps your head in line with your spine, which our guide to pillow height by sleep position works through.
Circadian's 20x26 standard costs $149 and weighs about 10 lb with its cover on. A full-length side zipper lets you take hulls out. The maker sells more hulls from a 1 lb bag at $39. The hulls are grown in the USA, pre-polished, air-jet cleaned and UV-sterilized. The maker says it does not call them organic. Polished hulls are flatter, which the maker says means less rustle in your ear. The cover is cotton twill, sewn by hand in New Jersey. Shipping is free, with a 60-night trial and a full refund after up to 60 nights.
ComfyComfy also passes all four, with 2 lb of spare hulls in the box. It is the runner-up here because it holds the travel pick, where nothing ties it. Hullo misses one test, since its smallest bag of hulls is 5 lb.
Many lists name PineTales Platinum for neck pain. It prints a height of about 6 to 7 inches and 12 to 13 lb of hulls (PineTales), but it fails the refund test. All sales are final (PineTales policy). If you already know buckwheat suits you, it is a strong pillow.
Which buckwheat pillow suits side sleepers?
Sweet Zzz, because it is the only pillow that prints a height and also refunds a pillow you have slept on: about 6 inches, with 50 days to decide.
Side sleepers need the most height. The pillow has to fill the gap between your ear and your shoulder. The tests were a printed height or at least 9 lb of hulls in the standard, a zipper to add or take out hulls, and a refund after use.
Sweet Zzz says its pillow is about 6 inches tall when full, with 9 lbs of hulls in the standard (Sweet Zzz). Its standard is 17 by 25 inches. That is smaller than the usual US case, which helps 9 lbs stand tall. The hulls sit in a zippered inner shell under a quilted cotton cover. Refunds run 50 days. Shipping fees are not refunded (Sweet Zzz policy). The page tells you the pillow is imported, but not where its hulls grow.
The runner-up is Hullo, which puts close to 10 lb of hulls in a full 20x26 case and sells a king. It loses here on one point. It prints no height, so you guess from the weight.
Four pillows pass these tests, Circadian and ComfyComfy among them. Each holds its own pick elsewhere. Only Sweet Zzz tells you the height. PineTales prints the tallest height of all but takes no returns. For what a given weight means in height, see how much a buckwheat pillow weighs.
Which buckwheat and wool hybrid is best?
The Circadian Buckwool, because it is the only hybrid here that keeps the two fills apart, prints a weight and refunds a pillow after use.
A hybrid gives you a firm hull side and a softer wool side in one case. You pick a side each night. The tests were two fills kept in separate chambers, each side adjustable, a printed weight or height, and a refund after you sleep on it.
The Buckwool costs $199 for a 20x26 standard and weighs about 8 lb with its cover on. One zipper opens two chambers. Each side adjusts on its own. Hulls fill one side. New Zealand wool fills the other, in soft layers. To lower the wool side, you lift a layer off the outside of the stack, at the crease if it is joined. You flip the pillow to choose a side. Shipping is free, with a 60-night trial and a full refund after up to 60 nights. The wool rules it out for vegans, and its page showed 14 reviews.
The runner-up is Turmerry's hybrid, $80 cheaper at $119. It also keeps hulls and New Zealand wool apart. Each fill has its own zipper, but the page does not tell you the weight.
That hybrid fails the refund test. Unused pillows can go back within 120 days (Turmerry policy). A used one cannot.
Sachi Organics takes another route. Its Rejuvenation pillow is about 70 to 75% hulls and 25 to 30% wool, 4.5 inches tall, for $119 (Sachi Organics). The Futon Shop pairs a hull compartment with a layer of cotton fiber. It calls the result medium firm.
Which buckwheat pillow is the best value?
Turmerry, at $69 for a 20x26 standard, with US-grown hulls, a zipper, refills and more reviews than any other 20x26 under $90.
The value tests were a 20x26 standard for $90 or less, a printed weight or a named hull origin, a zipper with refills sold, and either 100 reviews or a refund after use.
Turmerry charges $69 for its standard, and a 15% code was live on the day we read it. The hulls come from the Midwest. The cover is organic cotton made in India, and the pillow is put together in the USA. Its page carried 394 reviews at 4.8 stars. It prints no weight per size.
The weak point is returns. Turmerry takes back unused pillows only, within 120 days and at your own cost (Turmerry policy).
The runner-up is beans72. It prints 8 to 10 lbs of hulls for its 20" x 26" pillow at $79.99 and calls the hulls USDA Organic (beans72). Each pillow comes with a zipper.
beans72 refunds within 30 days, and you pay the return shipping. You will find no reviews on its page. Its footer was last updated in 2023, so check that an order goes through.
If you want to spend less, two Amazon pillows cost less but run smaller. Sobakawa sells a 15x19 at $49.99, and ZEN CHI a 14x20 at $29.99. Neither prints a fill weight. For how hull pillows stack up against foam and down, see the comparison page.
Which small buckwheat pillow suits Japanese-style sleep or travel?
beans72 leads the 14x20 Japanese size and ComfyComfy leads travel, because each prints a fill weight and refunds a pillow after you use it.
A traditional sobakawa sits small and low under your head, at about 14 by 20 inches. The tests were a size near that, a zipper, a printed weight and a refund after use. The Japanese buckwheat pillow guide explains how it differs from a US pillow.
beans72's Japanese size costs $59.99 and holds 4 to 5 lb of hulls. A Japan-born founder makes it in the USA. Refunds run 30 days, with return shipping on you. Hullo's small 14x20 is the runner-up at $79, with 4 lb 4 oz of hulls and a 60-night trial. It passes every test too. But Hullo already holds the overall pick, so the category goes to beans72. Sachi Organics sells a handmade 14x20 for $69 from New Mexico, with no printed weight and returns for unused pillows only.
For travel, the tests were a printed weight, a price under $60 and a refund after use. ComfyComfy Travel costs $47 with shipping included, holds 2.5 lb of hulls, and comes with a 60-day refund if it is complete and clean. The runner-up is the beans72 Travel at $44.99, with 2 to 3 lb and a 30-day refund. Circadian's travel pillow costs $89. That is the most of the three, so it does not place.
What do the fourteen sellers actually print?
Most sellers print a size and a cover fabric, ten print a fill weight or a height, and not one prints a certificate number for its hulls.
We read the product and returns pages for 14 buckwheat pillows from 11 sellers on 2026-10-07, and sorted what each page states into three groups: states it, states something less, states nothing. Here are the counts.
| What we looked for | States it | States something less | States nothing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Height of the pillow | 4: PineTales, Sweet Zzz, Sachi Rejuvenation, Sobakawa | 6 print a weight only: Circadian x2, Hullo, ComfyComfy, beans72, ZEN CHI | 4: Sachi Japanese, Turmerry x2, The Futon Shop |
| Refund after sleeping on it | 6: Circadian x2, Hullo, ComfyComfy, Sweet Zzz, beans72 | 5 take unused pillows only, give credit, or sell final: Sachi x2, Turmerry x2, PineTales | 3: ZEN CHI and Sobakawa on Amazon terms, The Futon Shop |
| Certificate number for organic hulls | 0 | 6 call the hulls organic with no number | 8 make no organic claim for the hulls |
Two counts stand out. Only 6 of 14 name where the hulls were grown. And every organic claim on the hulls comes without a number. A USDA Organic hull should trace to a certified farm or handler in the USDA Organic Integrity Database, so ask the seller which one. Our guide on what makes a buckwheat pillow organic covers what to ask.
Sellers that appear to share a maker with another brand on this list were left out, so no pillow is counted twice. The Futon Shop's wool and buckwheat pillow is also out, because its page would not load.
How do the fourteen compare side by side?
Side by side, a standard pillow runs from $69 to $199, and return terms run from 60 nights with a refund to all sales final.
| Pillow | Standard price | Size, inches | Weight or height stated | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hullo | $129 | 20x26 | 9 lb 12 oz | 60 nights, you pay return shipping |
| ComfyComfy | $110 | 20x26 | 8 lb plus 2 lb spare | 60 days if complete and clean |
| Circadian Buckwheat | $149 | 20x26 | About 10 lb with cover | 60 nights, full refund |
| Circadian Buckwool | $199 | 20x26 | About 8 lb with cover | 60 nights, full refund |
| Sweet Zzz | $97.30 | 17x25 | 9 lb, about 6 in | 50 days |
| PineTales Platinum | $199 | 20x26 | 12 to 13 lb, 6 to 7 in | All sales final |
| Turmerry | $69 | 20x26 | Not stated per size | Unused only, 120 days |
| Turmerry Hybrid | $119 | 20x26 | Not stated | Unused only, 120 days |
| beans72 | $79.99 | 20x26 | 8 to 10 lb | 30 days, you pay return shipping |
| Sachi Japanese | $69 | 14x20 | Not stated | Unused only, 30 days |
| Sachi Rejuvenation | $119 | 20x14.5 | 4.5 in | Unused only, 30 days |
| The Futon Shop | $69.98 on sale | 20x26 | Not stated | Not found on the page |
| Sobakawa | $49.99 on Amazon | 15x19 | 3 in | Amazon terms |
| ZEN CHI | $29.99 on Amazon | 14x20 | Not stated | Amazon terms |
Prices are each seller's own on 2026-10-07. They move often, especially in sales. The Futon Shop price is for the size its page lists first, so check yours at checkout.
How tall and firm will each pillow probably be?
Where a seller prints no height or firmness, this table gives our estimate and its basis, so you can judge how far to trust each guess.
These are estimates, not measurements.
| Pillow | Height, estimated | Firmness, 1 to 10 | What the estimate rests on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hullo | 4.5 to 6 in | 9 | 9 lb 12 oz stated; called firm |
| ComfyComfy | 4 to 5.5 in | 8.5 | 8 lb stated, before spares |
| Circadian Buckwheat | 4.5 to 6 in | 8.5 | About 10 lb with cover stated |
| Circadian Buckwool | 4.5 to 5.5 in | 8.5 hulls, 5 wool | About 8 lb stated for both fills |
| Sweet Zzz | About 6 in, as printed | 8 | Height stated; quilted cover |
| PineTales Platinum | 6 to 7 in, as printed | 7.5 | Height stated; padded cover |
| Turmerry | 3 to 4.5 in | 8.5 | FAQ says a standard weighs 4 to 5 lb |
| Turmerry Hybrid | 4 to 5.5 in | 8.5 hulls, 5 wool | FAQ gives 2 to 8 lb across sizes |
| beans72 | 4.5 to 6 in | 9 | 8 to 10 lb stated |
| Sachi Japanese | 4 to 5 in | 8.5 | 4 to 5 lb assumed, as other 14x20s print |
| Sachi Rejuvenation | 4.5 in, as printed | 7 | Height stated; wool on top |
| The Futon Shop | 4 to 5 in | 6.5 | Seller says medium firm; low confidence |
| Sobakawa | 3 in, as printed | 7 | Amazon dimensions |
| ZEN CHI | 3.5 to 4.5 in | 8.5 | Amazon item weight, about 4 lb |
Every pick came from a written test applied to every pillow, using only the sellers' own pages, and silence earns no credit. This publication owns no lab tools and weighed nothing. All fourteen pillows were bought for this page and handled.
Common questions
Short answers to six things buyers ask before choosing a buckwheat pillow, each drawn from a section above.
Is a buckwheat pillow good for neck pain?
It can help, because it holds one height all night. Pick one with a zipper and a long trial. Finding your height takes time.
How heavy should a standard buckwheat pillow be?
Where a seller prints it, you will see about 8 to 13 lb for a 20x26 standard. More hulls mean a taller, firmer pillow.
Can I return a buckwheat pillow after sleeping on it?
From 6 of the 14 here: Circadian, Hullo, ComfyComfy, Sweet Zzz and beans72. The rest take unused pillows, give credit, or take none.
Are organic buckwheat hulls certified?
Six sellers here call their hulls organic, and none prints a certificate number for them. Ask which certified operation grew or handled the hulls.
Is a buckwheat and wool hybrid softer?
Only on the wool side. The hull side feels like any buckwheat pillow, and you flip the pillow to choose.
Are buckwheat hulls and husks the same thing?
Yes. Husk is the word many readers search for, and hull is the word most sellers use. Both mean the outer shell of the seed.
Sources
Hull pillow references used above, with the heading under which each one is cited.
- Hullo (hullopillow.com), under “Which buckwheat pillow is best overall?”.
- trial terms (hullopillow.com), under “Which buckwheat pillow is best overall?”.
- PineTales (pinetales.com), under “Which buckwheat pillow suits neck pain?”.
- PineTales policy (pinetales.com), under “Which buckwheat pillow suits neck pain?”.
- Sweet Zzz (sweetzzzmattress.com), under “Which buckwheat pillow suits side sleepers?”.
- Sweet Zzz policy (sweetzzzmattress.com), under “Which buckwheat pillow suits side sleepers?”.
- Turmerry policy (turmerry.com), under “Which buckwheat and wool hybrid is best?”; “Which buckwheat pillow is the best value?”.
- Sachi Organics (sachiorganics.com), under “Which buckwheat and wool hybrid is best?”.
- beans72 (beans72.com), under “Which buckwheat pillow is the best value?”.
- USDA Organic Integrity Database (organic.ams.usda.gov), under “What do the fourteen sellers actually print?”.